The Tangmere Pilots extend a warm welcome to visitors in the Guest Room. Please feel free to register, drop by the Guest Room to say hello. If you are looking to join a squadron, we are currently recruiting. You can browse the rest of our site to see if The Tangmere Pilots fit what you are looking for.
Information: Please take a moment and visit your profile to choose a flag.

Testing the mission

Prangster is the Resident Expert on Battle of Stalingrad mission designing and building. He will impart his great wisdom within the hallowed halls of this room.

Moderators: Reggie, Tom

Post Reply
User avatar
Jacko
Great Britain
Air Vice Marshall
Air Vice Marshall
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Clog Land and UK
Contact:

Testing the mission

Post by Jacko » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:45 pm

How do you test a mission in BoS is it possible to play it from the editor in some way or are you forced to load it and play. I was thinking about the coop style we use where you want to test timing and triggers
Special recognition - Odious Mission Designer
VVS Rank: Starshina of the 32nd IAD Fighter Aviation Regiment.
RAF Rank: F/Lt Jacko No1 Squadron (JX-J) & No1 Sqd Press Officer
LW Rank: Feldwebel

"Use speed get close, get closer and make every bullet count "

"The only proper defense is offense"
.......Air Vice-Marshall J.E "Johnnie" Johnson, RAF
https://www.tangmere-museum.org.uk/
Image

User avatar
Tigertooo
Belgium
Flying Officer
Flying Officer
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Ostend, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Testing the mission

Post by Tigertooo » Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:34 pm

Jacko wrote:How do you test a mission in BoS is it possible to play it from the editor in some way or are you forced to load it and play. I was thinking about the coop style we use where you want to test timing and triggers
almost sure you can't play it directly from the FMB.More clever MB's can correct me if i'm wrong. For a DF server i'm sure you can't, you have to test it by putting up your own server...i think
Mirror,mirror on the wall,
Who is the best TP of them all?
"Thou are not Tiger, there's no doubt."
Euhh, well...roger that mirror,over and out.

"The Belgian Windbag"

User avatar
Swallow
Austria
Wing Commander
Wing Commander
Posts: 2033
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Oh Vienna....
Contact:

Re: Testing the mission

Post by Swallow » Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:23 am

I think Tiger's right. I'm pretty sure you have to quit the ME and fire up the actual game. If it's MP, I think you have to open up a server and wait while it registers itself with BoS Central, etc. A bore, but a routine bore.

User avatar
Jacko
Great Britain
Air Vice Marshall
Air Vice Marshall
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Clog Land and UK
Contact:

Re: Testing the mission

Post by Jacko » Thu Mar 19, 2015 8:40 am

Swallow wrote:I think Tiger's right. I'm pretty sure you have to quit the ME and fire up the actual game. If it's MP, I think you have to open up a server and wait while it registers itself with BoS Central, etc. A bore, but a routine bore.
For the times I started Dserver it was only a matter of 30 secs before it appeared in the Server list.

Then this means if you want to test a coop style mission for Sunday ops you have to play it in the Dserver with no way to fast track forward to the main event. In the last mission I made witht eh ship attack I did a lot of testing for the timing of the AI run into target after about 30 min of flying if I had to run the mission like this in CloD I would never have had enough time.

Hmmm a bit of a negative for churning out a weekly ops meethinks
Special recognition - Odious Mission Designer
VVS Rank: Starshina of the 32nd IAD Fighter Aviation Regiment.
RAF Rank: F/Lt Jacko No1 Squadron (JX-J) & No1 Sqd Press Officer
LW Rank: Feldwebel

"Use speed get close, get closer and make every bullet count "

"The only proper defense is offense"
.......Air Vice-Marshall J.E "Johnnie" Johnson, RAF
https://www.tangmere-museum.org.uk/
Image

User avatar
Swallow
Austria
Wing Commander
Wing Commander
Posts: 2033
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Oh Vienna....
Contact:

Re: Testing the mission

Post by Swallow » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:09 pm

There's always the old IL2/CloD trick of doing the mission as an SP one and then finally saving it as a DF mission, with the fakefield for spawning, and the "player" aircraft deleted. The thing is, though, I'm not sure about the triggers - some might only work with AI and some - I'm thinking of the "Complex Trigger" - may only work with human-controlled aircraft.

To be investigated! :-B

User avatar
Jacko
Great Britain
Air Vice Marshall
Air Vice Marshall
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Clog Land and UK
Contact:

Re: Testing the mission

Post by Jacko » Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:29 am

Swallow wrote:There's always the old IL2/CloD trick of doing the mission as an SP .

To be investigated! :-B
This might work but I think its only 2x speed in BoS which does not look like the 16x in CloD whatever the "x" means.

After playing with the waypoints and triggers I might try in future to set up all the logic fairly close in the FME and test them out then when the logic is working with timers etc move them further apart to where the mission needs then.

June does not seem so far away for us to start ops in bos :)
Special recognition - Odious Mission Designer
VVS Rank: Starshina of the 32nd IAD Fighter Aviation Regiment.
RAF Rank: F/Lt Jacko No1 Squadron (JX-J) & No1 Sqd Press Officer
LW Rank: Feldwebel

"Use speed get close, get closer and make every bullet count "

"The only proper defense is offense"
.......Air Vice-Marshall J.E "Johnnie" Johnson, RAF
https://www.tangmere-museum.org.uk/
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest